Mukwege becomes 11th African winner of peace prize

Joint winner of the Nobel Peace Prize Congolese Denis Mukwege is the 11th African to have won the Nobel Peace.

Previous African winners were:

  • 1960 Albert Luthuli – South Africa
  • 1978 Mohamed Anwar al-Sadat – Egypt
  • 1984 Desmond Tutu – South Africa
  • 1993 Nelson Mandela & FW de Klerk – South Africa
  • 2001 Kofi Annan – Ghana
  • 2004 Wangari Maathai – Kenya
  • 2005 Mohamed ElBaradei – Egypt
  • 2011 Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee – Liberia
Albert Luthuli was the first African to win the Nobel Peace Prize in 1960.

In 2015 four Tunisian organisations known as the National Dialogue Quartet won the prize.

Liberians Leymah Gbowee (left) Ellen Johnson Sirleaf won the prize in 2011.


First Published 05.10.18:

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Please select all the ways you would like to hear from Keep the Faith:

You can change your mind at any time by clicking the 'update preferences' link in the footer of our emails. For information about our privacy practices, please visit our website.

We use MailChimp as our marketing platform. By clicking below to subscribe, you acknowledge that your information will be transferred to MailChimp for processing. Learn more about MailChimp's privacy practices here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *