Fifth Anniversary Of The London Bridge Attack – A Service Of Remembrance And Commemoration

Fifth Anniversary of the London Bridge Attack from Southwark Cathedral

A service of Remembrance and Commemoration on the Fifth Anniversary of the London Bridge attack was held at Southwark Cathedral on Friday 3 June. In his sermon, the Bishop of Southwark, The Rt Revd Christopher Chessun, said,

My brothers and sisters, dear friends – five years have now passed since a day that still shocks us by the rawness of its remembrance. Do not give yourselves to despair, for then only wounds would remain and healing, if it came, would be slow. Recall instead the facts of character that reveal the heart. Take courage from them as you carry the past, so together we – and all people of goodwill – might open a future of bravery, protection, and shelter and those still bearing the scars might find healing of memories and renewal of hope, the Lord being our helper.

Prior to the service, the Dean of Southwark, the Very Revd Andrew Nunn, said,

Each anniversary brings back the memories of that terrible evening five years ago.  Southwark Cathedral, with other community leaders and groups, continues to support all those caught up in the events and to continue that process of building trust and hope throughout our communities.  We emerged scarred yet stronger.

The service was attended by the Lord-Lieutenant of Greater London, Sir Kenneth Olisa, the Mayor of Southwark, Cllr Sunil Chopra, members from the ecumenical and interfaith communities, and survivors, families, and friends of those who died.

After the service, the congregation, led by Bishop Christopher, Andrew Nunn, and the civic leaders, processed to Cathedral Square for the dedication of the Memorial Plaque.

The names of those who were killed are remembered on the plaque. They are:

Christine Archibald
Sebastien Belanger
Kirsty Boden
Ignacio EcheverrÍa
James McMullan
Alexandre Pigeard
Xavier Thomas
Sara Zelenak

Written by: Sophia Jones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *